(Top 101) #97: Paper Planes – M.I.A.

M.I.A.Children, cash registers, and gunshots. Who knew that the sounds of those three could add up to such brilliance? M.I.A.’s “Paper Planes” was my favorite song of 2008, and it’s #97 on my all-time list.

It’s such a bizarre song with so many contrasts. It’s foreboding and fun. It’s scary and silly. It’s otherwordly but real.

I don’t know. I still can’t figure it out. And maybe that’s part of its magic. Just press Play and set it on Repeat. Then hail M.I.A., who proved at the Grammys this year that pregnant women can be showstoppers, too.

97 M.I.A. – Paper Planes

Leave a Reply

