A Not-So-Smooth Criminal…

It’s been a tough week. Michael Jackson passed away, of course, and I also finally told the students at my school that I’ll be leaving in August. They’re taking it pretty well (in fact, a little TOO well, ha ha), but still, the atmosphere in Tommyland is a bit down overall. Along with that, there’s the unexpected cold drift coming in from a couple of homeroom teachers (apparently a bit miffed that I’m leaving) as well as the Principal who’s also become a bit grouchy towards me (he refused to write me a letter of recommendation saying that he’ll do it only after I come back to Korea; at least it gives me a reason to visit the school in the winter).

So what am I to do with all this distress? What else? Dance, dance, dance. Or to be more accurate, “dance” with big, are-you-kidding-me quotation marks. Trust me, I’m under no delusions; I know I’m no Fred Astaire. I’m just hoping the kids get a kick out of it (and strangely enough, I really DO feel a whole lot better about everything!).

6 Responses to A Not-So-Smooth Criminal…

  1. Julian says:

    Oh. My. Goodness. Wonderful. Great tribute. Thanks for putting it out there. You must have practiced for hours. And where did you get the hat??
    –Julian

  2. Michelle says:

    whoah! tommy teacher’s got moves! ^^

  3. tommylander says:

    Surely, you guys jest 🙂 Practiced for hours??? I came home, set the camera, turned on the music, and just let myself spaz out (after the first 20 seconds or so, I had no idea what the hell I was doing), the end. I DID plan to do a few takes, but after that first one, I was like, “Must. Stop. Now.” (Seriously, I’ve got to hit the gym again as soon as it’s vacation time)

    As for the hat, it’s the same one that I used as a part of my Willy Wonka get-up for my chess tournament. Man, that hat sure came in handy!!! (If I only could find a sequined glove somewhere…)

  4. Michelle says:

    that’s impressive spazzing out!

  5. Alex says:

    OMG OMG OMG!!! How long did you practice this? you told me that you didn’t want to dance. It’s Hoony by the way.

    • tommylander says:

      Hoony!!! I hope you got home safe. As for the dancing, I just don’t dance much in public (with good reason).^^

Leave a Reply

