(Top 101) #85 – No More Lonely Nights – Paul McCartney

Paul2There are some songs that–while I would not say were my very favorites–are just so hummable that I find myself singing them all the time, far more often than songs that I actually consider to be much better. I’ve already talked about this phenomenon in relation to Chicago’s “You’re My Inspiration.” Other eminently singable songs that you’re likely to hear me sing out of tune to are Aaron Neville’s “Everybody Plays the Fool,” Bruce Hornsby’s “The Way It Is,” R.E.M.’s “The One I Love” and the #85 song on the Top 101 countdown: Paul McCartney’s “No More Lonely Nights.”

The song grabs you right off the bat. You hear Paul’s unmistakable voice singing, “I can wait another day,” and the song’s already wrapped itself around your heart and giving it a death grip. The melody, like Paul’s voice itself, is paradoxically both plain and memorable; it’s a simple, unadorned ode to love. And just like Paul did to “Yesterday,” he injects just enough wistfulness–barely discernible under the optimistic lyrics–to make you think that the whole enterprise is doomed to fail, but you can’t help but wish Paul the very best. It makes you believe just as much as you are sure that it will never turn out the way you want it to. But it doesn’t really matter. In the end, believing is what it’s all about, and that’s what the song does. It makes you believe in believing.

85. No More Lonely Nights – Paul McCartney

Leave a Reply

