Pizza vs. Taco?

123

Well, I must say this week’s been a nice change of pace from the frenzy that was last week. My vacation English “camp” (it’s actually just regular classes, no tents or marshmallows involved) finishes at noon, and once I get materials prepared for the following day’s classes, I’m free to go off at 1 pm. Needless to say, it’s been very, very cool and a chance to unwind a bit. So far this week, I’ve gone shopping (got two shirts for about $13 each; I’m not much of a clotheshound, so that constitutes a major purchase on my part), went in for a sports massage/chiropractic adjustment (my neck let out a WHALE of a crack), and I went to the movies for some French movie called “Let It Rain” (I like a lot of French movies, but this one was as bad as my date).

But I’ve also gotten down to business, too. I’ve finally booked my tickets to Europe. I’ll be in London near the end of September for a week, and then it’s off to Paris for about two weeks. Sadly, I’ve decided to economize a bit by taking Barcelona out of the equation for now (para un otra dia, mi ciudad bella). I did get one bad news after I my reservation; I won’t be able to visit Stonehenge like I wanted, as the Circle Access Tour (where you actually get to step into the ropes and walk among the stones) won’t be happening while I’m there. D’oh!!! Oh, well, it’s perhaps just as well because I’m not really aiming for a touristy-type trip anyhow; I want to live like the denizens do. Sure, I’ll be visiting main sites, too, but more than anything, I want an authentic experience (on the cheap, mind you). One thing that I hope will help will be my tennis racket, which I’ll be bringing along. Hopefully, I’ll meet people to play with.

So in addition to a bit of self-pampering and finalizing details for my bon voyage, I’ve also been listening to a lot of new music this week. What spurred me is that the year is already almost 7/12 over, and there hasn’t been a ton of music that I really, really loved thus far (Pet Shop Boys, Loney Dear, and–blush–Girls’ Generation, and really, there hasn’t been a whole lot more). So I went on a listening rampage, and I’m glad to say that I’ve found quite a few tracks that had escaped my radar. Artists I discovered and really dug include La Roux, Metric, and the Phenomenal Handclap Band. But of all the tracks that I listened to, there was one that really stood out: Das Racist’s “Combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell.”

First of all, don’t let the group’s name scare you, the two members are minorities, and I think it’s meant to be tongue-in-cheek. What is the song about? Well, it’s a phone conversation between two guys who both claim that they’re at a particular combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell (the one on “Jamaica Avenue”) yet cannot see each other. On first listen, I thought the song was kinda catchy but plain out stupid. On second listen, I started thinking, “Hey, this is kind of cool.” Now, I can’t get enough of it. It gets almost existential after a while, like what the hell is going on? How can they not see each other but be in the same place? Is one (or both) of them lying? Are they at the same place but in different times due to a time conundrum? What? I don’t know, but it is one cool, cool song. I hope you like it, too.

Das Racist – Combination Pizza Hut And Taco Bell (Wallpaper Remix)

Leave a Reply

