It’s Official: I Am Now a Bum…

rain
It’s true, as of today, Tommy Teacher is (at least for now) an unemployed bum (in Korean: “bek-soo”). I have no job, no co-workers, no boss, and no set daily routine. So how does it feel? Liberating? Thrilling? Free as a bird? To be honest, it just feels odd! I keep feeling like I’m forgettting something that I should be remembering, something vitally important.

I don’t know; maybe it’s just the heat stroke talking. Yesterday, I made my long-awaited return to the tennis court. Just one minor problem: the temperatures reached 92 degrees. You add in my diminished physical state (I haven’t gone to the gym in months) and the Korean humidity, and the tennis was less about ground strokes and more about pure survival. After one set, I was ready to go home, but ironically, I was too tired to go anywhere, so I just ended up staying and playing more tennis. Trust me, it was not fun. Not. Fun. At. All.

At a certain point, I found myself praying for a respite, and what do you know, after four hours or so, BOOM, a sudden rainstorm hit. So yes, praying does work at times. Thank you, God!

Anyhow, after all that torture, I figured I’d sleep in late, but I was up at 8:00, just like I was last week, and I actually felt kind of okay. But now (it’s around lunchtime), I’m feeling pretty wacky all over. My head feels like it’s in a vise, my back hurts, my foot hurts, and my neck feels strangely off-balanced. I’ve made a reservation at a chiropractor’s office tomorrow, so hopefully, everything will be put back in whack (Is than an expression? If not, it should be, right? Things go out of whack, so why can’t they go in?).

Okay, I’ve spewed enough gibberish for now, I think. I’ve gotta go eat something before I collapse, but I leave you with a song that I’ve had on constant repeat lately: Sarah Blasko’s work of ethereal beauty, “All I Want.” Sarah, I hear you. All I want is to know myself, too. Hopefully, my time off will provide me with some clues.

All I Want – Sarah Blasko

P.S. I almost forgot to share some big news. I got a haircut. See for yourself.

pcbang

2 Responses to It’s Official: I Am Now a Bum…

  1. Michelle says:

    isn’t that your usual haircut?

  2. tommylander says:

    Ouch! Now don’t be dissing my $5 Blue Club haircuts.

Leave a Reply

