(Top 101 Countdown) #75. Thunder Road (Live) – Bruce Springsteen

My father has asked me to find the bus routes from our house (in the South Bay) to downtown Los Angeles. He doesn’t feel comfortable driving on the L.A. freeways (with good reason), and he has a Seniors card that apparently lets him ride the buses for free.

I found out the routes within a few clicks, and I eventually gave Dad the info, but I found very reluctant, and I had to think about it over night. I just kept getting this image of my father lost and hapless, wandering through a dangerous, you-don’t-wanna-be-here neighborhood after having made a wrong transfer somewhere. I asked my brother what I should do, and he thought Dad would be fine, and I guess I am kind of paranoid, but it’s just that… well, he’s Dad, and I just don’t want anything bad to happen to him. He’s family, after all.

bruceThis story (hopefully) segues nicely into the next song on our Top 101 Countdown (back to music, hurray): “Thunder Road” by Bruce Springsteen. After all, that’s what Springsteen sings about on most of his songs: family, both our immediate ones, and also the larger family of community and countrymen, all of us searching for something to hold on to. I love this song–especially the bare, live version–because it’s about a guy with a whole bunch of issues who’s met a girl, with plenty of issues of her own, and catches a glimpse of hope of something better, somewhere better he can drive to, someone better he could be. Hope. Belonging. Navigatng the streets of a hard, cruel world. Finding that elusive “magic in the night.” Thunder Road. May we all find our way there (especially my dad!)…

75. Thunder Road (Live) – Bruce Springsteen

Leave a Reply

