(Top 101) #63. What Hurts the Most – Rascal Flatts

What hurts the most was being so close
And having so much to say
And watching you walk away

So my mom went back to the States tonight. She’s on the airplane as I write this, hopefully sleeping peacefully, and I wonder if she knows just how much I’m going to miss her. You know, as I was about to say goodbye to her at the airport gate, I kept thinking about how lucky we’ve been–my aunt’s recovering well, my mom’s knee’s getting steadily better, and we were able to spend two whole months together, which has been the longest time we’ve been in the same country aside from my year of grad school since I left for Korea in 1999. And I kept thinking about how happy we’ve been and how well we’re getting along now and how I’ll see her again in the summer (either my mom’s coming to Korea, or I’ll be going to the States for a visit), and then I look at my mom and we hug, and just like that, we just dissolve into tears, thoughts of happiness flung aside… Seriously, airport goodbyes are hell for the tear ducts, I tell you… For that matter, so are mothers…

63. What Hurts the Most – Rascal Flatts

Leave a Reply

