(Top 101) #52. The Hazy Shade of Winter – The Bangles

My brother had a huge crush on Bangles member Susannah Hoffs back in the day, and I’m sure he was not alone (Prince was also reportedly enamored with her). But as for me, I wasn’t a fan. I found the Bangles and their music annoying, and in the case of “Walk Like an Egyptian” downright racist–I’ve since been to Cairo and Luxor, and I can assure you no one there walked like that. But their cover of Simon & Garfunkel’s “The Hazy Shade of Winter” finally turned me around. It’s thrashing, but it’s still tight and polished, without ever getting too messy. And Susannah did have a way of gift-wrapping a good hook with her deadpan voice and in the words of Tim Gunn “making it work.” You go, Bangles, I (and hopefully Egypt) forgive you.

Time, time, time
See what’s become of me…

P.S. Many bonus points for the song’s use in “Less Than Zero,” a much-derided 80’s classic that I still say is Robert Downey Jr.’s best movie and performance ever. It’s all 80’s drug-addled excess, but the movie also has some real heart to it, the likes of which we just don’t see anymore. Nowadays in movies, everybody’s just so busy beeing so god-damn cool. The 80’s were a time when people were just waiting for that moment when they could set their cynical and perfect-looking masks down and start getting real. Oh, John Hughes, how much I miss you…

52. The Hazy Shade of Winter – The Bangles

Leave a Reply

