The World Is…

Maybe because it’s my brother’s birthday this week and I’m an ocean away, but I’ve been listening to a lot of music that I’m sure many people will find lugubrious.  It’s perhaps strange, but I don’t find it depressing at all.  In fact, I find it uplifting.

This is Matthew Ryan, an incredible indie singer who’s got an awesome new album out called Dear Lover. (buy it here )   His old stuff is great, too (he’ll be showing up on my Top 101 Countdown some time later), but this album is just amazing, full of moody beauty.   And like his fellow brothers of Lumberjack Rock (apparently the correct term is ‘alt-country,’ but I like my name better) Bonnie Prince Billy, Damien Jurado, and William Fitzsimmons, he sings like he’s on the top of a roof cabin singing to the stars. And the world is better off for it.

The World Is – Matthew Ryan

Leave a Reply

