#48. Torn – Natalie Imbruglia

There’s actually something about this song that bugs me about this song.  It’s the goofy lyric, “I am cold and ashamed, lying naked on the floor.”  If you’re cold, why wouldn’t you put some clothes on and why would you lie down on a bare floor?

The reason this bugs me is that I’ve done something similar, so I know what it feels like.  A few years ago, I went through something called a Nissen Fundoplication for a medical condition known as GERD.  I’ll spare you the details since I don’t want to relive them; let it suffice to say that it was not a fun time.  For a month after the surgery, I could barely eat or drink anything since my esophagus was left really swollen and sensitive (I ended up losing more than 20 lbs.). 

So I was left dehydrated and pretty much out of it (and most of all, so so so hungry, painfully so) all that time, and one day, it was kind of hot in my room, so I tried to turn the air conditioner on, but somehow I ended up turning the heater on, only that I didn’t know it.  So it just got hotter and hotter, but I was so barely there that I just figured I had a bad fever.  Anyhow to make the long, pathetic story short, I ended up going to the bathroom and lying down on the cold tile floor just to get relief from how hot I was.

Now, would I have done that if I was feeling “cold and ashamed,” like Ms. Imbruglia supposedly did?  Heck, no.  I’m telling you, that lyric just makes no sense!  So it’s a good thing that “Torn” has that killer chorus to make up for it and still land on the Top 101 Countdown.  Who knows how much higher it would’ve been if she had just changed those words to “hot and hungry”?

48. Torn – Natalie Imbruglia

Leave a Reply

