Gyeongju: To History And Back

Anapji Pond in Gyeongju

I’m back from a two-day trip to Gyeongju, the ancient capital of the Silla Kingdom that ruled over much of the Korean Peninsula for hundreds of years… Okay, well, that’s pretty much it as far as my historical knowledge of Gyeongju goes. However, I can tell you, the place is indeed pretty amazing, from the tall grave mounds of old Silla rulers right in the middle of downtown to the huge stone Buddha statue in the Seokguram Grotto, the ancient Bulguksa Temple, and the autumn colors in full bloom pretty much all over the place. It was just as inspirational as I hoped it would be (scenes for my novel rose up in my mind like they were always there just waiting to come out). It was also exhausting (I walked and walked everywhere, shades of Paris), but more than anything, it was just plain out fun and really tranquil. History, it does a mind good!

Leave a Reply

