Kate Bush: This Amazing Woman’s Work

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been sleeping with Kate Bush. Okay, okay, let me clarify. I’ve been putting her music on my CD player each night to listen to while I’m falling asleep.

I was aware of Kate before. I knew and loved “This Woman’s Work” from years back, and I also liked the duet she did with Peter Gabriel. And of course, I heard that she had been an influence on Tori Almighty. But I had ordered her “Whole Story” collection back when I was in high school from the BMG CD Club (remember the “Get 10 CDs for a penny” ads?), and when “Wuthering Heights” started playing, all I could think was “What the hell is with this shrill woman?” I ended up selling the CD to a used CD store and pretty much lay Kate to rest for good, I thought.

But then a few weeks ago, I was watching The Amazing Race where the racers had to plant potatoes in a Russian field while several babooshkas cheered them on. As I was watching, I knew I had heard that word in a song before, so I went tracking it down, and it led me back to the Kate Bush league. Since then, I’ve been digging through her back catalogue, and it’s been like digging my fingers into a treasure box dug up from the bottom of the ocean. Her music: it’s just genius piled on genius piled on genius. I can’t think of better music to sleep with.

Leave a Reply

