(Top 101) #23. At This Moment –Billy Vera & the Beaters

One of my favorite novels is “The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter” by Carson McCullers.  No one did heartbreak and unreciprocated love better than Ms. McCullers.  But one of the most poignant passages in that book isn’t about romance at all.  It concerns a young girl who is precocious and talented and hears “music around her all the time” (I’m paraphrasing from memory) but has to go to work at a store to support her family and then with time, the music goes away for good.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t worried about this happening to me.  I’m not making big claims about my writing talent (although I do at the core believe in it), but my mind was always buzzing, and I was devoted to writing.  But now I’m not.  I’m working or thinking about work almost 24-7. 

But I have to keep believing in my talent and that it will be there waiting for me when I call out to it.  You’ve gotta have belief, no matter what the odds may be.  Like Billy Vera here pleading with the girl he loves, even though he knows she’s already gone.  He knows it’s pretty much hopeless, but he knows he’s gotta try…

If you stay, I’d subtract twenty years from my life

23. At This Moment – Billy Vera & the Beaters

 

Leave a Reply

