(Top 101) #21. She Is His Only Need – Wynonna

Anybody else catch the season finale of the Bachelorette?  It was reality TV at its cheesiest, trashiest, yet vulnerably compelling best as Ashley and the bachelor with the shaved head got hot n’ heavy to the refrains of REO Speedwagon.  It didn’t bring me to tears or anything, but I had to admit, I let out the littlest of sighs.

But the happy, gooey ending wasn’t the most moving part of the show.  It was actually what happened when sweet, little Ashley had to break the heart of the Rafael Nadal-lookalike bachelor (sorry, the only guy whose name I can remember with certainty is… you guessed it, Bentley, aka the Evil Snake).  It was a must-see, trainwreck TV moment, and Rafael’s pain and anger reached poetic heights as he paraphrased a classic line from the oh-so-not-a-classic film “Cocktail”:  “Things don’t end unless they end badly.”  Well said, Rafa, well said.  I was honestly moved; oh, the power of words…

Anyhow, speaking of endings, it’s my last week here in California before I am to return to Korea (apparently, I chose a good time to come; according to one student who left a comment on my Cyworld page, it’s been raining for 23 days).  The last three weeks have pretty much floated on by, with me perpetually happy, hazy, and lazy, only coming out of my fluffy stupor for bike riding and trips to the gym.  My 3 goals for my American month were to work on my novel, set up lesson plans for next semester, and get back into shape.  Well…  Let’s just say my biceps have become nicely toned, and leave it at that.

In my (weak) defense, I should say that I find it hard to write my novel while outside of Korea.  And as for the lesson plans, I’ll still have 4 weeks left before the semester begins once I get back, so I’ll be working my behind off during that time.  I’ll have to.  I plan on actually having a life outside of work starting from this semester (choir, writing group, an actual social life), and that’s just not going to happen unless I get my lessons set up in advance.  Like they say, “Do you live to work, or do you work to live?”

Anyhow, let’s return to our Top 101 Countdown now, where we come to the highest-charting country song:  Wynonna Judd’s “She Is His Only Need.”  I first heard this song when Wynonna visited Rosie O’Donnell’s old daytime talk show, and Rosie specifically requested this song, saying that it made her cry every time.  It’s basically about a guy who loves a lass named Bonnie so much that he spends his whole life giving her everything she wants and loving her unconditionally without a single cross moment or a word of complaint.  In other words, a guy found only in a country song.  But, oh, what a song…

Every once in a while, you could see him get up

 and he’d head downtown

Cause he heard about something she wanted

and it just had to be found

21. She Is His Only Need – Wynonna

Leave a Reply

